Indian Premier League (IPL) Winners List from 2008 to 2023

Indian Premier League (IPL) Winners List from 2008 to 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular and lucrative professional Twenty20 cricket leagues in the world, organized by the IPL Governing Council, under the aegis of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Since its inception in 2008, the IPL has provided cricket fans with some of the most exciting and competitive cricket matches, featuring some of the best cricket players from around the globe.

One of the most coveted achievements in the IPL is winning the championship title, and over the years, several teams have managed to do just that. This IPL winners list is a comprehensive guide to all the teams that have won the IPL championship, along with their performance records and notable achievements. Whether you’re a die-hard cricket fan or a casual follower of the sport, this IPL winners list is an essential resource for anyone interested in the history and legacy of the IPL.

List of Indian Premier League (IPL) Winners, Seasons, and Results

SeasonWinnerWinning marginRunner-upFinal venueNumber of teamsNumber of MatchesPlayer of the series
2008Rajasthan Royals
164/7 (20 overs)
Won by 3 wicketsChennai Super Kings
163/5 (20 overs)
DY Patil Stadium859 Shane Watson
2009Deccan Chargers
143/6 (20 overs)
Won by 6 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
137/9 (20 overs)
Wanderers Stadium859 Adam Gilchrist
2010Chennai Super Kings
168/5 (20 overs)
Won by 22 runsMumbai Indians
146/9 (20 overs)
DY Patil Stadium860 Sachin Tendulkar
2011Chennai Super Kings
205/5 (20 overs)
Won by 58 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
147/8 (20 overs)
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium1074 Chris Gayle
2012Kolkata Knight Riders
192/5 (19.4 overs)
Won by 5 wicketsChennai Super Kings
190/3 (20 overs)
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium976 Sunil Narine
2013Mumbai Indians
148/9 (20 overs)
Won by 23 runsChennai Super Kings
125/9 (20 overs)
Eden Gardens976 Shane Watson
2014Kolkata Knight Riders
200/7 (19.3 overs)
Won by 3 wicketsPunjab Kings
199/4 (20 overs)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium860 Glenn Maxwell
2015Mumbai Indians
202/5 (20 overs)
Won by 41 runsChennai Super Kings
161/8 (20 overs)
Eden Gardens860 Andre Russell
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
208/7 (20 overs)
Won by 8 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
200/7 (20 overs)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium860 Virat Kohli
2017Mumbai Indians
129/8 (20 overs)
Won by 1 runRising Pune Supergiant
128/6 (20 overs)
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium860 Ben Stokes
2018Chennai Super Kings
181/2 (18.3 overs)
Won by 8 wicketsSunrisers Hyderabad
178/6 (20.0 overs)
Wankhede Stadium860 Sunil Narine
2019Mumbai Indians
149/8 (20 overs)
Won by 1 runChennai Super Kings
148/7 (20 overs)
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium860 Andre Russell
2020Mumbai Indians
157/5 (18.4 overs)
Won by 5 wicketsDelhi Capitals
156/7 (20 overs)
Dubai International Cricket Stadium860 Jofra Archer
2021Chennai Super Kings
192/3 (20 overs)
Won by 27 runsKolkata Knight Riders
165/9 (20 overs)
Dubai International Cricket Stadium860 Harshal Patel
2022Gujarat Titans
133/3 (18.1 overs)
Won by 7 wicketsRajasthan Royals
130/9 (20 overs)
Narendra Modi Stadium1074 Jos Buttler
2023Chennai Super Kings
171/5 (15 overs/DLS)
Won by 5 wicketsGujarat Titans
214/4 (20 overs)
Narendra Modi Stadium1074Shubman Gill

Most IPL Winner

Mumbai Indians (MI) is the most successful Indian Premier League (IPL) team, having won the IPL tournament five times. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) hold second place with four trophies in their pocket. Let’s have a look at the most IPL winners list by the team.

IPL Winner TeamTimesYear
Chennai Super Kings5 times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
Mumbai Indians5 times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Kolkata Knight Riders2 times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 time2008
Deccan Chargers1 time2009

Interesting Facts About Indian Premier League (IPL):

  • IPL was established in 2008 and currently consists of ten teams in ten cities across India. The inaugural IPL season was won by Rajasthan Royals
  • As of April 2023, there have been sixteen seasons of the IPL tournament.
  • The IPL tournament involves each team playing every other team twice in a home-and-away, double-round-robin format.
  • In 2013, Pune Warriors India exited IPL after it had a franchise valuation disagreement with BCCI.
  • Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended in 2015 & 2016 following a betting controversy. However, in July 2017, BCCI announced that both Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals would be allowed back into the IPL competition from the 2018 season.
  • Mumbai Indians have won five titles. Chennai Super Kings have won four titles and Kolkata Knight Riders have won two titles, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals, apart from former team Deccan Chargers, are the other teams to have won the tournament title as of June 2022.
  • With the 5 titles Mumbai Indians (MI) become the most successful team in Indian Premier League (IPL).
  • Former India and Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli tops the run charts with 6,624 runs in 223 matches, averaging 36.20 while striking at 129.15. Kohli has slammed five centuries and 44 fifties since 2008.
  • Dwayne Bravo is the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League, with 183 wickets.


How many times CSK won IPL?

The IPL championship title has been claimed five times by Chennai Super Kings (CSK), in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023. Out of these victories, the one in 2018 may hold a special place in the hearts of skipper Dhoni and the entire franchise. This is because they had just returned to the league after being banned for two years (2016 & 2017), making their win even more meaningful and symbolic of their resilience.

Who is 1st IPL champion?

In 2008, the IPL was founded, and it presently comprises ten teams located in ten different cities throughout India. The Rajasthan Royals emerged as the champions of the inaugural IPL season.

Which team won the most IPL finals?

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the most successful teams in Indian Premier League (IPL), having won the title a record five times.

Did Delhi won IPL Cup?

As of 15 seasons of IPL Delhi Capitals have not won any season. However, in 2020, Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians played the final match and Mumbai Indians won the IPL 2020 title by defeating Delhi Capitals in the night finals. MI and CSK won the title for the 5th time.

How many times CSK lost IPL final?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have lost the IPL final five times. They reached the final in the years 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019 but were unable to win the championship on those occasions.

Who has scored the most runs in IPL history?

The leading scorer in the IPL is Virat Kohli, a star batsman for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. With a total of 6624 runs in 223 IPL matches (215 innings) to his name, Kohli holds the record for the most runs scored in the shortest format of the game at the international level.

Who has taken the most wicket in IPL history?

Dwayne Bravo is the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League, with 183 wickets.

Which IPL team never won trophy?

Three teams have never won an IPL season: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS), and Delhi Capitals (DC).


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *