Prey for the Devil Movie Poster

Prey for the Devil

October 28, 2022
1hr 33min
Status: released

Trailer, Teaser & Videos

Where to Watch Prey for the Devil (Stream)

Amazon Prime Video

Prey for the Devil Movie Details:

Country United States
Language English
Release dateOctober 28, 2022
Running time1hr 33min
Age ratingPG-13
StarringJacqueline Byers
Colin Salmon
Christian Navarro
Lisa Palfrey
Nicholas Ralph
Ben Cross
Virginia Madsen
Directed by Daniel Stamm
Screenplay byRobert Zappia
Story byRobert Zappia
Earl Richey Jones
Todd R. Jones
Produced byPaul Brooks
Earl Richey Jones
Todd R. Jones
Jessica Malanaphy
Cinematography by Denis Crossan
Edited by Tom Elkins
Music byNathan Barr
Production CompanyGold Circle Films
Distributor Lionsgate

Prey for the Devil Movie Cast & Characters:

  • Jacqueline Byers as Ann
  • Colin Salmon as Father Quinn
  • Christian Navarro as Father Dante
  • Lisa Palfrey as Sister Euphemia
  • Nicholas Ralph as Father Raymond
  • Posy Taylor as Natalie
  • Ben Cross as Cardinal Matthews
  • Virginia Madsen as Dr. Peters
  • Cora Kirk as Emilia


In response to a global rise in demonic possessions, the Catholic Church reopens exorcism schools to train priests in the Rite of Exorcism. On this spiritual battlefield, an unlikely warrior rises: a young nun, Sister Ann (Jacqueline Byers). Although nuns are forbidden to perform exorcisms, a professor (Colin Salmon) recognizes Sister Ann’s gifts and agrees to train her. Thrust onto the spiritual frontline with fellow student Father Dante (Christian Navarro), Sister Ann finds herself in a battle for the soul of a young girl (who Sister Ann believes is possessed by the same demon that tormented her own mother years ago), and soon realizes the Devil has her right where he wants her….and it wants in.

Prey for the Devil Movie Box Office Collection & Budget:

Worldwide Collection$44.7 million

About Prey for the Devil Movie:

Prey for the Devil is an American supernatural horror film about a nun who trains as an exorcist under the Roman Catholic Church and confronts demonic possession. The film is produced under the studio Lionsgate and is directed by Daniel Stamm. It stars Jacqueline Byers, Colin Salmon, Christian Navarro, Lisa Palfrey, Nicholas Ralph, Virginia Madsen, and Ben Cross.

The film was originally titled “The Devil’s Light” but was later changed to “Prey for the Devil”.

The film was first announced in October 2019. Filming took place during the summer of 2020 in Sofia, Bulgaria.

Ben Cross died of cancer on August 18, 2020, and had wrapped filming for his part a mere ten days beforehand.

Prey for the Devil was theatrically released on October 28, 2022, by Lionsgate. The film was previously scheduled to be theatrically released in the United States on January 8, 2021, then moved to February 11, 2022. The film received negative reviews from critics.

The film was released for VOD platforms on December 13, 2022, followed by a Blu-ray, DVD, and 4K UHD release on January 3, 2023.

Prey for the Devil grossed $19.8 million in the United States and Canada, and $24.9 million in other territories, for a worldwide total of $44.7 million.

In the United States and Canada, Prey for the Devil was released alongside the wide expansions of Tár and Till, and was projected to gross $7–8 million from 2,980 theaters in its opening weekend.