Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy Movie (2019) Cast & Crew, Release Date, Story, Review, Poster, Trailer, Budget, Collection

Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy

October 2, 2019
2hr 50min
  • Surender Reddy scripted the film based on an original story given by Paruchuri brothers. A work of fiction, the film is inspired by the life of Indian independence activist Uyyalawada Narasimha Reddy from the Rayalaseema region of Andhra Pradesh.
  • It was officially launched on 22 August 2017, coinciding with Chiranjeevi’s birthday, whereas principal photography of the film began on 6 December 2017 and wrapped up on 24 June 2019.
  • The film was shot across Hyderabad, Kerala while some scenes were filmed in Georgia.
  • Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy was initially scheduled to release in January 2019, which is planned to coincide with the Sankranthi occasion. However, it was postponed to the occasion of summer, due to Ram Charan’s Vinaya Vidheya Rama (2019), being released on the Sankranthi occasion. The release was further postponed due to delay in film production and the makers finalized for a Dusshera occasion (7 October 2019), although being preponed to 2 October 2019, since the release coincides with Gandhi Jayanthi and also adding the benefits of the extended holiday weekend. On 23 September 2019, the film was sent to the Central Board of Film Certification for public viewing, where it received a U/A certificate from the officials.
  • The film was opened up on more than 4,800 screens worldwide, despite clashing with the Hindi film War (2019), and the Hollywood film Joker (2019). The film’s Hindi version was distributed by Rithesh Sidhwani and Farhan Akhtar, under their Excel Entertainment banner. The film’s Kannada distribution rights were bagged by Dheeraj Enterprises for a sum of ₹27 crore (US$3.4 million). The film made a business of ₹200 crore (US$25 million), before release. Weekend Cinemas acquired the distribution rights of the film in the United States for a sum of ₹20 crore (US$2.5 million), and it was premiered a day before the Indian release, on 1 October 2019.
  • The digital rights of the film were sold to Amazon Prime Video for ₹40 crores. The film was released on the streaming platform (simultaneously in all languages), after its theatrical run, on 21 November 2019. The satellite rights of the film were sold to Sun TV Network (for Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada versions) and Zee TV (for the Hindi version), for a sum of ₹125 crore. The film was initially slated to air on 1 December 2019, was postponed due to unknown reasons; the dubbed Tamil version of the film was premiered on Sun TV instead, and registered a TRP rating of 15.4 with more than 11 crore impressions. The original version was premiered later on Gemini TV, in January 2020.


  • South Indian International Movie Awards (18 September 2021)
    • Best Film – Telugu – Konidela Production Company (Nominated)
    • Best Female Playback Singer – Telugu – Sunidhi Chauhan, Shreya Ghoshal for “Sye Raa” (Nominated)
    • Best Cinematographer – Telugu – R. Rathnavelu (Nominated)
  • Zee Cine Awards Telugu (12 January 2020)
    • Best Actor – Chiranjeevi (Won)
    • Best Cinematographer – R. Rathnavelu (Won)

Where to Watch Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy (Stream)

Amazon Prime Video

Trailer, Teaser & Videos

Poster & Photos