Thappad Movie (2020) Cast & Crew, Release Date, Story, Review, Poster, Trailer, Budget, Collection


February 28, 2020
2hr 22min
Status: released

Trailer, Teaser & Videos

Poster & Photos

Where to Watch Thappad (Stream)

No streaming services available.
  • Thappad (English: Slap) is a Bollywood drama film, starring Taapsee Pannu, Pavail Gulati, Dia Mirza, Maya Sarao, Geetika Vidya Ohlyan, Kumud Mishra, Ratna Pathak Shah, Tanvi Azmi, Ram Kapoor. The film was released in theatres on 28 February 2020.
  • The film Thappad is directed by Anubhav Sinha and written by Anubhav Sinha and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul, while the film is directed by Bhushan Kumar, Krishan Kumar, Anubhav Sinha under the banner of Benaras Media Works and T-Series. There are striking similarities between the film and the popular Australian television series The Slap (TV series) which itself is based on The Slap, a 2008 novel by Australian author Christos Tsiolkas.
  • Principal photography began on 6 September 2019 and ended on 16 October. The film was shot in various places of Uttar Pradesh mainly at Shalimar Paradise, Barabanki and other locations in Lucknow.
  • The film was initially set for release on 6 March 2020, but was moved a week earlier to 28 February 2020 in order to avoid clashing with Baaghi 3, a big commercial release.
  • On 11 February, a second trailer was released which showed Pannu breaking the fourth wall and asking viewers to report the video so that it gets blocked on YouTube.

Thappad Movie Tracklist:

The film’s songs are composed by Anurag Saikia and lyrics are written by Shakeel Azmi and Sanah Moidutty.

  • Ek Tukda Dhoop – Raghav Chaitanya
  • Dancing In The Sun – Sharvi Yadav
  • Hayo Rabba – Suvarna Tiwari

Thappad Movie Awards (Wins & Nominations):

9 wins and 12 nominations,

  • Filmfare Awards (11 April 2021)
    • Best Film (Anubhav Sinha, Bhushan Kumar, Krishan Kumar)
    • Best Story (Anubhav Sinha and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul)
    • Best Actress (Taapsee Pannu)
    • Best Male Playback Singer (Raghav Chaitanya)
    • Best Editing (Yasha Ramchandani)
    • Best Background Score (Mangesh Dhakde)
    • Best Sound Design (Kaamod Kharade)
  • FOI Online Awards (2020)
    • Best Film Editing (Yasha Ramchandani)
    • Best Performance By An Ensemble Cast (Shakeel Azmi)