Guardians of the Galaxy Movie (2014) Cast, Release Date, Story, Budget, Collection, Poster, Trailer, Review

Guardians of the Galaxy

August 1, 2014
2hr 2min
Status: released

Trailer, Teaser & Videos

Where to Watch Guardians of the Galaxy (Stream)

Guardians of the Galaxy Movie Details:

Based onGuardians of the Galaxy by Dan Abnett Andy Lanning
Country United States
Language English
Release dateJuly 21, 2014 (Dolby Theatre)
August 1, 2014 (United States)
Running time2hr 2min
Age ratingPG-13
StarringChris Pratt
Zoe Saldaña
Dave Bautista
Vin Diesel
Bradley Cooper
Lee Pace
Michael Rooker
Karen Gillan
Djimon Hounsou
John C. Reilly
Glenn Close
Benicio del Toro
Directed by James Gunn
Written byKevin Feige
Produced byJames Gunn
Nicole Perlman
Cinematography by Ben Davis
Edited by Fred Raskin
Craig Wood
Hughes Winborne
Music byTyler Bates
Production CompanyMarvel Studios
Distributor Walt Disney Studios
Motion Pictures

Guardians of the Galaxy Movie Cast & Characters:

  • Chris Pratt as Peter Quill
  • Zoe Saldana as Gamora
  • Dave Bautista as Drax
  • Vin Diesel as Groot (voice)
  • Bradley Cooper as Rocket (voice)
  • Lee Pace as Ronan
  • Michael Rooker as Yondu Udonta
  • Karen Gillan as Nebula
  • Djimon Hounsou as Korath
  • John C. Reilly as Corpsman Dey
  • Glenn Close as Nova Prime
  • Benicio Del Toro as The Collector
  • Laura Haddock as Meredith Quill
  • Sean Gunn as Kraglin / On Set Rocket
  • Peter Serafinowicz as Denarian Saal
  • Christopher Fairbank as The Broker
  • Krystian Godlewski as On Set Groot
  • Wyatt Oleff as Young Quill
  • Gregg Henry as Grandpa
  • Janis Ahern as Meredith’s Mother
  • Solomon Mousley as Meredith’s Brother
  • Lindsay Morton as Meredith’s Best Friend
  • Robert Firth as Dr. Fitzgibbon
  • Melia Kreiling as Bereet
  • Tom Proctor as Horuz
  • Nick Holmes as Horuz’ Mate
  • Max Wrottesley as Sacrificed Nova Corpsman
  • Stan Lee as Xandarian Ladies’ Man
  • Nicole Alexandra Shipley as Pretty Xandarian
  • Sharif Atkins as Nova Arresting Pilot
  • Brendan Fehr as Corpsman Dey’s Partner
  • Tomas Arana as Kree Ambassador
  • Mikaela Hoover as Nova Prime’s Assistant
  • Emmett J Scanlan as Head Riot Guard (as Emmett J. Scanlan)
  • Dominic Grant as Angry Guard
  • Spencer Wilding as Mean Guard
  • Alison Lintott as Sad Woman with Horns
  • Alexis Rodney as Moloka Dar
  • Nathan Fillion as Monstrous Inmate (voice)
  • Keeley Forsyth as Mottled Prisoner
  • Frank Gilhooley as Burly Prisoner
  • Alexis Denisof as The Other
  • Enzo Cilenti as Watchtower Guard
  • Richard Katz as One-Legged Prisoner
  • Ene Frost as Rifle Guard (as Enoch Frost)
  • Ronan Summers as ‘Drop The Leg’ Guard
  • Ophelia Lovibond as Carina
  • Laura Ortiz as Tortured Pink Girl
  • Marama Corlett as Pit Boss
  • Rosie Jones as Lady of the Boot of Jemiah
  • Abi Olasoji as Lady of the Boot of Jemiah (as Abidemi Sobande)
  • Alex Rose as Lady of the Boot of Jeremiah
  • Ekaterina Zalitko as Lady of the Boot of Jemiah
  • Emily Redding as Lady of the Boot of Jemiah
  • Fred as Cosmo The Space Dog
  • Stephen Blackehart as Knowhere Dispatcher
  • Jennifer Moylan-Taylor as Sad Krylorian Girl
  • Bruce Mackinnon as One-Eyed Ravager
  • Ralph Ineson as Ravager Pilot
  • Rob Zombie as Ravager Navigator (voice)
  • Naomi Ryan as Nova Centurion
  • John Brotherton as Nova Starblaster Pilot
  • Graham Shiels as Alien Nova Pilot
  • James Gunn as Maskless Sakaaran
  • Douglas Robson as Maskless Sakaaran
  • Rachel Cullen as Corpsman Dey’s Wife
  • Isabella Poynton as Corpsman Dey’s Daughter
  • Imogen Poynton as Corpsman Dey’s Daughter
  • David Yarovesky as Goth Ravager
  • Miriam Lucia as Crying Xandarian Citizen


After stealing a mysterious orb in the far reaches of outer space, Peter Quill from Earth is now the main target of a manhunt led by the villain known as Ronan the Accuser. To help fight Ronan and his team and save the galaxy from his power, Quill creates a team of space heroes known as the “Guardians of the Galaxy” to save the galaxy.

Guardians of the Galaxy Movie Box Office Collection & Budget:

Budget$232.3 million (gross)
$195.9 million (net)
Worldwide Collection$773.3 million

About Guardians of the Galaxy Movie:

Guardians of the Galaxy (Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1) is an American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics superhero team of the same name.

It is the 10th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) and as part of Phase Two of the MCU.

Two sequels have been released: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017) and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (2023).

Perlman began working on the screenplay in 2009. Producer Kevin Feige first publicly mentioned Guardians of the Galaxy as a potential film in 2010 and Marvel Studios announced it was in active development at the July 2012 San Diego Comic-Con.

Film writer and director James Gunn was hired to write and direct the film that September.

In February 2013, Pratt was hired to play Peter Quill / Star-Lord, and the supporting cast members were subsequently confirmed.

Principal photography began in July 2013 at Shepperton Studios in England, with filming continuing in London before wrapping in October 2013. In addition to an original score by Tyler Bates, the soundtrack includes several popular songs from the 1960s and 1970s chosen by Gunn. Post-production was completed on July 7, 2014.

Guardians of the Galaxy was a critical and commercial success, grossing $773.3 million worldwide and became the third-highest-grossing film of 2014.

It was nominated for two awards at the 87th Academy Awards and received numerous other accolades.

The film featured 2,750 visual effects shots, which make up approximately 90% of the film. The visual effects were created by: Moving Picture Company (MPC), who worked on creating Groot, as well as Morag.

The world premiere of Guardians of the Galaxy was held on July 21, 2014, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. The film was released theatrically in the United Kingdom on July 31, 2014, and in the United States on August 1, in 3D and IMAX 3D. The film was released in 4,080 theaters in the United States, making it the widest August release, breaking the five-year record held by G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra (4,007 theaters). The breakdown of venues was: 354 IMAX screens, 3,200 3D screens, 350 large format screens, and 240 D-Box screens. In its sixth weekend, Guardians of the Galaxy was playing in 69 territories, its most. It was praised for its screenplay, direction, acting, humor, soundtrack, visual effects and action sequences.

Guardians of the Galaxy was released for digital download by Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment on November 18, 2014, and on Blu-ray, Blu-ray 3D, and DVD on November 24, 2014, in the United Kingdom and on December 9 in the United States. The digital and Blu-ray releases include behind-the-scenes featurettes, audio commentary, deleted scenes, a blooper reel, and an exclusive preview of Avengers: Age of Ultron. As of October 4, 2015, the film has earned over $118 million in sales in the US.

The film was also included in the 13-disc box set, titled “Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase Two Collection”, which includes all of the Phase Two films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It was released on December 8, 2015. The IMAX Enhanced version of the film was made available on Disney+ beginning on November 12, 2021.