Skip to content

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie (2015) Cast, Release Date, Story, Budget, Collection, Poster, Trailer, Review

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie (2015):

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens (also known as Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens) is an American epic space opera film produced, co-written, and directed by J. J. Abrams. The sequel to Return of the Jedi (1983), it is the seventh film in the “Skywalker Saga”. Set thirty years after Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens follows Rey, Finn, Poe Dameron, and Han Solo’s search for Luke Skywalker and their fight in the Resistance, led by General Leia Organa and veterans of the Rebel Alliance, against Kylo Ren and the First Order, a successor to the Galactic Empire. The ensemble cast includes Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Max von Sydow.

    The film was announced after The Walt Disney Company’s acquisition of Lucasfilm in October 2012. The film is the first Star Wars film to not extensively involve franchise creator George Lucas, who only served as a creative consultant in the early stages of production. The Force Awakens was produced by Abrams, his longtime collaborator Bryan Burk, and Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy. Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan, co-writer of the original trilogy films The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi, rewrote an initial script by Michael Arndt. John Williams, composer for the previous episodic films, returned to compose the score. Principal photography began in April 2014 on a $259–306 million budget and concluded the following November. Filming took place on sets at Pinewood Studios in England, and on location mainly in Abu Dhabi, Iceland, and Ireland.

    The Force Awakens premiered in Los Angeles on December 14, 2015, and was released in the United States on December 18. It was positively received by critics, who found it an action-packed film with the mix of new and familiar actors capturing the nostalgia of the original trilogy and giving the franchise new energy.[6] The film grossed $2 billion worldwide, breaking various box office records and becoming the highest-grossing film in the United States and Canada, the highest-grossing film of 2015, and the third-highest-grossing film at the time of its release. It was nominated for five awards at the 88th Academy Awards, and received numerous other accolades. The Last Jedi (2017) and The Rise of Skywalker (2019) followed The Force Awakens, rounding out the Star Wars sequel trilogy.

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Information:

    Movie NameStar Wars: The Force Awakens
    Country United States
    Language English
    Release DateDecember 14, 2015 (Hollywood)
    December 18, 2015 (United States)
    Running Time2hr 18min
    Based onCharacters by George Lucas
    StarringHarrison Ford
    Mark Hamill
    Carrie Fisher
    Adam Driver
    Daisy Ridley
    John Boyega
    Oscar Isaac
    Lupita Nyong’o
    Andy Serkis
    Domhnall Gleeson
    Anthony Daniels
    Peter Mayhew
    Max von Sydow
    Directed by J. J. Abrams
    Written byLawrence Kasdan
    J. J. Abrams
    Michael Arndt
    Produced byKathleen Kennedy
    J. J. Abrams
    Bryan Burk
    Cinematography by Dan Mindel
    Edited by Mary Jo Markey
    Maryann Brandon
    Music byJohn Williams
    Production CompanyLucasfilm Ltd.
    Bad Robot Productions
    Distributed byWalt Disney Studios
    Motion Pictures
    Budget$306 million (gross)
    $258.6 million (net)
    Box Office Collection$2.071 billion

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Trailer:

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Storyline (Plot/Synopsis):

    30 years after the defeat of Darth Vader and the Empire, Rey, a scavenger from the planet Jakku, finds a BB-8 droid that knows the whereabouts of the long lost Luke Skywalker. Rey, as well as a rogue stormtrooper and two smugglers, are thrown into the middle of a battle between the Resistance and the daunting legions of the First Order.

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Cast and Characters:

    • Harrison Ford as Han Solo: A smuggler and captain of the Millennium Falcon
    • Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker: The last Jedi, who has gone into hiding
    • Carrie Fisher as General Leia Organa: A leader of the Resistance
    • Adam Driver as Kylo Ren: A leader of the Knights of Ren and the commander of the First Order, who is the son of Han and Leia
    • Daisy Ridley as Rey: A Force-sensitive scavenger
      • Cailey Fleming as young Rey
    • John Boyega as Finn: A reformed First Order stormtrooper
    • Oscar Isaac as Poe Dameron: A high-ranking X-wing fighter pilot of the Resistance
    • Lupita Nyong’o as Maz Kanata: A centuries-old and perceptive alien who owns a castle on the peaceful forest planet Takodana
    • Andy Serkis as Supreme Leader Snoke: A enigmatic, artificially genetic leader of the First Order
    • Domhnall Gleeson as General Hux: The commander of the First Order’s Starkiller Base
    • Anthony Daniels as C-3PO: A humanoid protocol droid
    • Peter Mayhew as Chewbacca: Han’s loyal Wookiee friend and co-pilot
    • Joonas Suotamo and Ian Whyte served as body doubles for Mayhew as he suffered from health problems
    • Max von Sydow as Lor San Tekka: A galactic explorer searching for Luke Skywalker

    Where To Watch Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Online (Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie OTT Release Date):

    Share this post on social!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *