Surface TV Series (2022) Cast & Crew, Release Date, Episodes, Storyline, Review, Poster, Trailer

Surface (Season 1)

July 29, 2022
Season: 1
Episodes: 8
Status: released

Trailer, Teaser & Videos

Where to Watch Surface (Season 1) Online (Stream)

Apple TV

Surface (Season 1) TV Series Details:

Country United States
Language English
No. of episodes8
Release date July 29, 2022
Running time48min
StarringGugu Mbatha-Raw
Oliver Jackson-Cohen
Stephan James
Ari Graynor
Marianne Jean-Baptiste
François Arnaud
Millie Brady
Created by Veronica West
Directed by Sam Miller
Executive producersSam Miller
Lauren Neustadter
Veronica West
Reese Witherspoon
ProducersAshley Strumwasser
Jon Wu
Cinematography by Elie Smolkin
Tami Reiker
Claudine Sauvé
Editing by Matthew Ramsey
Rebecca Valente
Victoria Grimsley
Production companiesApple Studios
Hello Sunshine
Original network Apple TV+

Surface (Season 1) TV Series Cast & Character:

  • Gugu Mbatha-Raw as Sophie
  • Oliver Jackson-Cohen as James
  • Stephan James as Baden
  • Ari Graynor as Caroline
  • Ingrid Libera as Maya
  • Marianne Jean-Baptiste as Hannah
  • François Arnaud as Harrison
  • Millie Brady as Eliza
  • Josh Collins as Lennox House Bartender
  • Christin Park as Victoria


After surviving a suicide attempt, Sophie has lost her recent memories, including the reason why she decided to jump, and she tries to piece together the reasons for her attempted suicide.

About Surface (Season 1) TV Series:

Surface is an American psychological thriller miniseries created by Veronica West for Apple TV+. The series is directed by Sam Miller and produced by Ashley Strumwasser and Jon Wu.

It stars Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Stephan James, Ari Graynor, Marianne Jean-Baptiste, François Arnaud and Millie Brady.

In December 2022, the series was renewed for a second season.

Surface (Season 1) Episodes:

Surface Episode 1: Ictus

A woman’s struggle to remember and understand everything that led up to the suicide moment and the quest to rebuild her life.

Surface Episode 2: Muscle Memory

Her suspicions of her husband growing, Sophie attempts to get away from James and learn the real truth about their marriage

Surface Episode 3: New Person, Same Old Mistakes

Sophie pushes the boundaries of her recovery, hoping to excite the secrets hurried deep in her mind.

Surface Episode 4: Psychogenic

Sophie pushes the boundaries to speed up her memory in hope of bringing forward any deep dark secrets buried in her mind. Sophie is determined to find out the truth about ‘that’ night.

Surface Episode 5: It Comes in Waves

A risky choice lands Sophie in the throes of a hallucinogenic trip that makes her question what kind of person she really is-or was.

Surface Episode 6: The Myth of California

James is finally honest with Sophie about their marriage and their past. His betrayals run deep, but not as deep as her own.

Surface Episode 7: It Was Always Going To End This Way

Sophie must end the investigation into her own crimes, and she realizes there’s only one explanation left for what happened on the ferry.

Surface Episode 8: See You on the Other Side

Sophie seems ready to move forward, but can she accept a life with James while questions about her past still linger?