Thor: The Dark World Movie (2013) Cast, Release Date, Story, Budget, Collection, Poster, Trailer, Review

Thor: The Dark World

November 8, 2013
1hr 52min
Status: released

Trailer, Teaser & Videos

Poster & Photos

Where to Watch Thor: The Dark World (Stream)

  • Thor: The Dark World is an American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character Thor.
  • It is the sequel to Thor (2011) and the eighth film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) and as a part of Phase Two of the MCU.
  • Two sequels have been released: Thor: Ragnarok (2017) and Thor: Love and Thunder (2022).
  • Development of a sequel to Thor began in April 2011 when producer Kevin Feige announced plans for it to follow the MCU crossover film The Avengers (2012).
    As depicted in The Avengers (2012). The events of Thor: The Dark World are set a year after the events of The Avengers.
  • In July, Thor director Kenneth Branagh withdrew from the sequel. Brian Kirk and Patty Jenkins were considered to replace him as director before Taylor was hired in January 2012.
  • The supporting cast filled out in August 2012, with the hiring of Eccleston and Akinnuoye-Agbaje as the film’s villains.
  • Filming took place from September to December 2012 primarily in Surrey, England, as well as in Iceland and London.
  • Taylor wanted the film to be more grounded than Thor, inspired by his work on Game of Thrones. He hired Carter Burwell to compose the score, but Marvel replaced Burwell with Brian Tyler.
  • The world premiere of Thor: The Dark World took place on October 22, 2013, at the Odeon Leicester Square in London. The film was released theatrically in the UK eight days later, on October 30. The film held its North American premiere at the El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood and was released into U.S. theaters on November 7, 2013. It received praise for the performances of Hemsworth and Hiddleston, visual effects, and action sequences, but was criticized for its generic villain and lack of depth. Retrospectively, Taylor has expressed dissatisfaction with the film, stating that Marvel substantially altered it from his original vision during post-production.
  • Thor: The Dark World was a commercial success, grossing over $644 million worldwide and becoming the tenth highest-grossing film of 2013.
  • Lofoten islands off the coast of Norway, used in the film with CG Asgardian structures added by Double Negative.
  • Thor: The Dark World was released by Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment for digital download on February 4, 2014, and on Blu-ray Disc, 3D Blu-ray, and DVD on February 25, 2014. The physical media release includes deleted scenes, extended scenes, a gag reel, audio commentary by the cast and crew, and a Marvel One-Shot short film entitled All Hail the King, featuring Ben Kingsley reprising his role as Trevor Slattery from Iron Man 3.
  • The film was also collected in a 13-disc box set, titled “Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase Two Collection”, which includes all of the Phase Two films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It was released on December 8, 2015.